Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Giveaway Winner /New Giveaway Begins!

The winner of an autographed copy of The Everyday Catholic's Guide to the Liturgy of the Hours is the Anonymous profile/"Kathy" who posted about thirteen comments down on last week's blogiversary giveaway.

If Kathy does not contact me with her mailing info within a couple of days, I'll go back and pick a new name. (You'd be surprised how often this happens with giveaways.)

And now for a new giveaway. This time I have two books, so there will be two winners.
The titles are:
Good Pope, Bad Pope by Mike Aquilina - biographical profiles on a dozen different pope. Some were great and made important contributions to the church and to history. Others, not so much, but seeing how the Church survived their sins and blunders teaches us important lessons about God's providence and promise to remain with His Bride "in sickness and in health".

AND...

The Romance of Religion by Fr. Dwight Longenecker if you visit his blog, Standing On My Head, you have some idea of what a delightful writer this convert from Anglicanism is. Written in the tradition of G.K. Chesterton, Father Longenecker's book exhorts us to courage, wonder, and a sense of humor as we fight the good fight on this earth.

So, comment away! You may state a preference for one of the books if if you like.  This will not guarantee which one you get, but it might help. The winner will be chosen next Tuesday.

14 comments:

  1. Hi Daria!

    Well, I'm slowly getting the hang of my Breviary. It's a little confusing at times, but I've managed to get through it. I find look forward to each of the Hours for a different reason: the morning gets me focused for the day. The daily prayer gives me a good reason to get away from my desk and find a quiet spot to pray, and the evening prayer gives me a chance not only to pray, but to reflect on my day. It's a wonderful way to pray! Your book has been very helpful, as I find myself getting my Nook out to "check out" a particular aspect of the LoTH. It's been a big help!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I just piked your name as a book winner, Stuart. Send me your address and I'll get The Romance of Religion out to you. Send it to thesockeys"at" gmail"dot" com

      Delete
  2. Hi....am I the anonymous Kathy? Yay hope so!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. How do I get my address to you?

      Delete
    2. Kathy, if you were about 13 comments down on the previous giveaway post, it's you! Email your address to me. thesockeys"at"gmail "dot"com

      Delete
  3. Well, both of the books sound interesting but I would be most interested in The Romance of Religion. Thanks for the chance! God bless, Michele F.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm a history buff, so I'd love to read the Mike Aquilina book about the popes.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wouldn't mind the Good Pope/Bad Pope book. I heard the author in December I think it was on Sirius XM radio on the Catholic Channel.
    Love your work Daria.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Just did the drawing--you are a winner, and since the other wiinner did not specify, you will get your pick of GP,BP Send your address to thesockeys"at"gmail"dot"com

      Delete
    2. Did you get my email containing my name & address?
      -Joseph

      Delete
    3. Got it. I'd forgotten at first that you had a Benedictine alias.

      Delete
  6. Both books sound interesting and it would be fun to win one of them. If not I still get so much from your blog as a new Catholic and new prayer of the hours. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm a new blog follower, too, and newbie to LOTH. It's overwhelmingly exciting! I'm reading your book, I got a copy from the library but I might have to go buy my own copy! I'd be happy if I won either of these giveaway books.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Blessed are those whose strength is in you, whose hearts are on the road to Zion
    As they go through the bitter valley, they make it a place of springs
    the autumn rain covers it with blessings.
    I like it better as "IN whose hearts are the road to Zion....they make it a place of springs". It makes me think of how some friends make of their hearts a refreshing place for others to find the road to Zion.
    franciscanhobbit

    ReplyDelete